To Survive a Stroke

 

Psalms 4: 4-8

The Lord hears when I call to Him. Tremble, and do not sin; Meditate in your heart upon your bed, and be still. Offer the sacrifices of righteousness, And trust in the Lord. Many are saying, “Who will show us any good?” Lift up the light of Your countenance upon us, O Lord! You have put gladness in my heart, More than when their grain and new wine abound. In peace I will both lie down and sleep, For You alone, O Lord, make me to dwell in safety.

This ol’ goat of an author had a bit of a scare this week.  The name of that scare is mild stroke.  You know that thought about – Praise God in all things.  That’s a tough call isn’t it?  As events whirled around me and my mouth wouldn’t work to form words, and I couldn’t focus, yet within, God poured Peace and Calm Assurance through me, so that I need not be afraid.

That stroke enemy wanted to take away my left side in order to stop my testimony, to stop my fellowship with God, to stop my writing for Christ, and to stop our family in fear of trembling to stop our worship and living for Him.

  • To take away my left leg and balance so that I couldn’t go to church and worship together and hear His word preached.
  • To take away my smile and speech so I couldn’t tell the grand kids Bible stories and pray with my wife or read His scripture for our devotionals together.
  • To take away my left arm and hand so I could no longer type my devotionals, testimonials, poems, and my Christian novels which are given to God for His Glory and are aimed at pointing people to Christ.

Those goals darkness had to stop.  But…  God has other plans.  In that time of stillness, God provided His Peace and a time to reflect on Him and away from the clamor of the world.  If you are in a whirl and life has you down, may I suggest that you pull away from it all and focus on the blessings of God.  You see…  What darkness meant as evil, God can turn to a blessing.  Sure, the stroke was tough and scary to endure, but hope and faith in Jesus is stronger.  God doesn’t change.  I know that my Redeemer lives and someday those who trust Him for Salvation will go to be with Him forever.  In that place will be Glory forever with no tears, no pain, no struggle in life.

So now I can praise God for my stroke.  Because now I am more certain of my call to worship Him, to be a responsible and God fearing Christian, be the spiritual head of our home and lead in testimony, devotionals, prayer, and praise, and to follow His call on the rest of my life to write for Him.

I don’t know what form of evil that darkness has pressed upon you.  Please know beyond any doubt that God is in control.  Whatever darkness brings as evil, God can turn that issue into a point of victory for Him and for you and to help your testimony shine and help point others to Christ.   Praise God for my stroke!

About fictionbypalmer

Explosive Christian fiction writer. Hope to be published in 2012. Praise God to help me keep it simple and true, straight from the heart, for the Glory of God. As you read my story or answer a blog, please feel His Presence, His touch in your life. Fictionbypalmer@gmail.com
This entry was posted in family focus and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

