A Tough Place To Stand

How To Make A Stand of Faith

My recent doctor’ visit was highlighted during an interview with the nurse.  What a thrill and privilege to find out her stand of faith.  She used a few words of faith during her introduction.  I replied in the same manner and asked if she knew Jesus.  Her response is one for the record.  “Yes, I know Jesus.  He saved me from the darkness of alcohol abuse and now I’m here to serve Him.”

I smiled because I know several others from a similar background.  Her stand of faith matched my recent writing and my verse for the day.  Isn’t it a great thing, when as a Christian, one finds another spirit filled soul doing her best to radiate Christ in the workplace.

I acknowledge her stand.  “I’ll bet you would never go back to darkness?”

She grimaced and shook her head.  “No way!  I’ll never go back to that.  I have four sons, two in the navy, and they recently affirmed my stand during my 58th birthday party.  You see, when I found Christ, I moved away from darkness to what I have now in Jesus.  My boys didn’t understand or agree with it at the time.”  She broke into a wide grin.  “But they sure reaffirmed it now.  Now I live for Jesus.”

Her theme closely matched my verse for the day.  1 John 2: 5  But whoso keepeth his word, in him verily is the love of God perfected: hereby know we that we are in him.  She kept His Word in her heart.  She knew without doubt that she was in Christ and He in her.  God is perfecting her faith as she lives that faith in front of her family and work.

What a challenge to me and to you as she beamed her happiness.  I find a great Christian truth in her stand of faith.  That truth is found in her history.  She knows darkness and will never go back to that alcoholic past.  She looks forward to new avenues to show her faith.  That is part of my challenge in writing – to show others ‘how to’ overcome adversity through a step of faith.  Her life of faith shows that ‘YES’ it can be done through a step of faith in Christ.

 

How about you, my friend?  Do you struggle with a temptation to sin that ‘seems’ too big for you or Jesus?  If so, then think of my interview with the nurse.  She was there, lived through a hell of dependency, and now lives for Jesus.  You can do it too, in the name of Jesus.  He is my strength, her strength, and your strength too.

Come home.  Come home.  Ye who are weary come home…

 

Author Terry Palmer

About fictionbypalmer

Explosive Christian fiction writer. Hope to be published in 2012. Praise God to help me keep it simple and true, straight from the heart, for the Glory of God. As you read my story or answer a blog, please feel His Presence, His touch in your life. Fictionbypalmer@gmail.com
This entry was posted in family focus and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

