PAIN The Great Frontier

One Method To Shred Your Pain – A Christian Perspective

You KNOW what pain is!

That stabbing, chronic pain, that lives with you 24/7!

Oh, if I could just get past this pain, I could…” 

What?  What is the goal that you could do, or want to do?

How often do we do this little exercise?  We wait, we pant, we figure and plan, until we collapse in unorganized failure.  “Oh, if I could just get past this pain, I could…”

As a caregiver to a disabled spouse, this author and so many others like me, have to watch as the scene goes through its slow motions.  If only…  Does that ring some sort of inner bell with you?  It does for me, but…  that awful word leads us on to discovery.

Most people who suffer day and night with chronic pain also deal with a long list of medications.  Before or after meals, you pull out the packet and stare at the pile of pills.  If only…

And there you are, caught up in the same cycle – again.

What is a good Christian perspective for chronic pain?  Perhaps this question might lead to another and another.  Why? Because we haven’t mentioned God – yet.

God is the author and finisher of our faith.  How often we cry out as the apostles did in Luke 17:5, “Lord, increase our faith.”  What about our focus?

If you are like me, with both arms in slings as I write these words, you tend to focus on what you see, hear, or touch.  But here is the question for the day.

How can we, as Christians, not focus so much on the pain, or on the circumstances, so that we don’t end up honoring disease and darkness?

It could go on and on.  You know the suffering.  It has stolen your life for now.  But here is the other question.  It’s a matter of your own faith.

 

He who sins is of the devil, for the devil has sinned from the beginning. For this purpose the Son of God was manifested, that He might destroy the works of the devil.

It’s true for me and for countless others.  As we focus on the pain, we don’t focus on Christ.  Darkness came to kill, maim, and destroy your faith, your testimony, you what?  If you could fill in the blank______.  What would your answer be?

Who do you choose to honor this day?  Do you choose to honor your disease or pain?  Or – can you take that little step of faith and claim that Christ is sufficient?

That is the take away for today.  Yes you can.  I had to do it to type this blog, in spite of both arms in slings.

Please pray with me.

‘Lord, forgive me.  I’ve let myself focus on my disease and my pain to the point where I no longer honor you.  Help me, Lord, the same as the apostles prayed.  Lord, increase my faith.  Help me to focus on you Lord, in spite of the pain.’

 

 

 

 

About fictionbypalmer

Explosive Christian fiction writer. Hope to be published in 2012. Praise God to help me keep it simple and true, straight from the heart, for the Glory of God. As you read my story or answer a blog, please feel His Presence, His touch in your life. Fictionbypalmer@gmail.com
This entry was posted in chronic pain, focus on Christ and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

